Me or the plug-in that is the question

I’m in the early phase of designing a box to hold some rings I’m making and had this idea for a box with some pillars to hold the rings, a total of 5 of them. I started playing with this box design and though I’d use the plug-in to see what it looked like but, well it didn’t look like I expected. Here is the general idea:

The resulting svg:
rig%20box%20test

Now like I mentioned this could be something I’m doing wrong just as easy as it could be an error in the plug-in but then again maybe something in how I did it in sketchup.
test ring box.skp (112.2 KB)

Ed

Ed, I ran your model through the plugin and got the same result. I’m not sure why but your component does not show as being solid since the volume of the component doesn’t show in the entity info box when it is selected. I also ran a plugin called solid inspector and it shows a lot of errors. When solid inspector fixes the errors the rings pillars disappear. I’ll keep playing with it to see if I can figure it out.

Glenn

I ran used your file to generate a SVG for Aspire and then opened it up to generate the cut files. The first cut was the pocket around the five cylinders and the inner wall. The second cut was a pocket defined by the wall at full dept and the third cut was pockets that define the final height of the cylinders. So the plugin is identifying the wall as a pocket with a depth of the wall height instead of a perimeter cut around the outside of the wall. The other two cuts are fine. I eliminated the cylinders and the wall was still recognized as a pocket. I think the issue is with Sketchup. If you look at the bottom of your box you will see the floor has been raised by the amount you thought was going be to its thickness.